Register to Vote

Register Online

Register to vote or update your registration using your Colorado driver’s license, Colorado State ID, or the last 4 digits of your Social Security number*. Website is available in English or Español.

Register Now

*If you register as a new voter online with the last 4 digits of your SSN, you will be asked to complete additional steps to provide us with your signature.

Email, Mail, or Fax

Register to vote or update your registration by filling out a paper form and returning it to our office via email, mail, or fax. Click here for instructions for completing the form.

Registration/updates will take effect as of the postmark date on the form. (If postmark is not legible, the effective date is the date received by the office.)

English Form  Forma Española

Register in Person

Register to vote or update your registration year-round at any of our three Chaffee County Clerk and Recorder offices.

During election periods, eligible residents may also register to vote at any Vote Center.

Voter Eligibility Requirements

In order to vote in Colorado, you must be:

  •  A U.S. citizen
  •  A Colorado resident for at least 22 days before the election
  •  Must not be serving a sentence of confinement or detention for a felony conviction (NOTE: Those on probation or parole ARE ELIGIBLE to vote.)

Age Requirements

  • 16-year-olds can preregister to vote
  • 18-year-olds can vote in any election.

ID Requirements

While you do not need to have a Colorado ID, CO Driver’s License or other form of acceptable ID in order to register, you must produce this documentation the first time you vote. Thus, it is recommended to provide this documentation during the registration process to avoid needing to mail in a form of identification when you vote. Visit the Secretary of State list of Acceptable Forms of Identification.