Temporary Recording Procedures due to COVID-19
For recordings, we are accepting recordings by mail or e-recordings. The most efficient way to record a document now is to e-record. Call 719-530-5602 or email email@example.com for more details. Our office has a high volume of calls so if we don’t answer, please leave a message and we will return your call promptly.
New Procedure Regarding Recorded Title Conveyance Documents
Due to recent changes to the way in which fees and penalties are applied to Conveyance Documents, Chaffee County is enacting the following procedures to protect customers:
For more information please contact our Recording Department at 719-530-5602, or the Assessor’s Office at 719-539-4016.
Deeds – Documents that convey real estate
Deeds of Trust – Documents that encumber real estate. In the State of Colorado, the Public Trustee, a third party, is appointed as regulatory official
DD214 – Documents which state an individual’s military record. The Chaffee County Clerk’s office records DD214 documents free of charge and makes certified copies of these documents free of charge.
Subdivision Plats – Approved maps showing the legal boundaries of lots, blocks and easements at the time of recording, within a subdivision.
Other – Judgments and decrees, federal and state tax liens, releases, public trustee documents, business incorporation and statements of authority and marriage licenses, for example.
All documents recorded are indexed and imaged digitally. Original documents are returned to the owner. Digital images are uploaded nightly, and are available for searching online.
Please Note While the Recording Department will record any document presented by a customer, customers should understand that simply recording a document does not confer legality or authenticity on the document.
Submit Documents to the Correct County: Often documents intended for recording in one county are sent to another county by mistake. Please be aware that Chaffee County will NOT reject these documents and will not issue refunds for recording fees paid due to such an error. It is the sole responsibility of the submitter to ensure that you are recording your document in the appropriate County.
New Recording Fees-January 1, 2017. As a result of the passing of SB16-115, Colorado recording fees will be calculated as follows:
$13.00 for the first page and $5 for each additional page for all recorded documents.
e-Recording Documents Chaffee County encourages you to e-record your document rather than submitting it in paper form. The convenience, speed and security of online recording can more than offset the time and cost of paper submittals. e-Recording your document takes minutes. The process of submitting by paper, particularly if you are mailing it in, can take a week to 10 days to complete. eRecording Submitters: Simplifile www.Simplifile.com 1-800-460-5657. CSC (866) 652-0111, firstname.lastname@example.org. To submit documents electronically visit their website at erecording.com Indecomm Global Services, Web link: https://dmg.indecomm.net/Solutions/eRecording, Email: email@example.com, Telephone: 877-272-5250
Online Search of Public Documents
To search all recorded documents filed in our office for free, follow the link, iCounty.org.
NEW: Abstract Books that have been digitized
ABSTRACT LOTS BOOK 2 - 1 to 122 (Coming soon)
ABSTRACT LOTS BOOK 2 - 123-240 (Coming Soon)